The Wolf You Feed

wolfwolf

This time of year always makes me reflect on all the events of the previous 12 months, and take stock on where my life is at.

I’ve realized that I can paint two very different pictures, depending upon my focus.

This past year was tough.  I was finding my way through a new job.  I was trying to juggle that with finishing school – which was more work than I’d ever bargained for.  My son had a terrible accident, which led to him being unable to work for quite some time, and ultimately to have to find a new job.  It was hard to watch him struggle.  My daughter spent 3 months in France on a student exchange, and I missed her SO much while she was there.  It was a bit of a preview of what it’s going to be like when she goes off to university next year.  My dad had a bleed in his brain, and required a very scary surgery.  This made me realize that we are past the stage of life where it’s all about weddings and babies and are entering a stage in life that’s much more about illness and funerals.  It’s hard to not feel down sometimes.

This past year was amazing!  I have found a job that I absolutely love, and it has really made me stretch and grow this year.  At the same time, both my children are spreading their wings, and finding their way in the world independently.  It’s gratifying beyond words to see all the dreams that I had for the kind of people I wanted them to become when they were babes in my arms actually coming true!  We are so fortunate to have our parents close by, and they are wonderfully supportive and active in our day to day lives.  We are past that stage of searching for what’s important – we have built a life around the people and activities that bring meaning to us.  It’s hard to not feel blessed.

A friend shared a traditional aboriginal story with me about how there are two wolves fighting inside each one of us – and evil one, and a good one.  The moral of the story is that the one who wins is the one that you feed.

So as you review the events of your past year – are you feeding the positive or the negative perspective?  And as you look forward into 2016, don’t forget – there will be awesome moments, and moments of misery.  How you fare this year will be largely determined by which wolf you feed.

I wish you a happy and fulfilling 2016!

2 thoughts on “The Wolf You Feed

  1. Christen Karuzas says:

    Nice write!:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

