The Best Weekend Ever!

freedom

Of all the basic needs, I think the one that I crave the least is freedom. The relationships in my life are extremely important to me. I want to be a competent and successful person. I love to laugh and have fun. But freedom? As long as I have those other things, what difference does it make?

But then I had this weekend. My husband and kids were all away. I was totally all by myself. This doesn’t sound like a recipe for an amazing weekend. Amazing weekends are filled with fun and friends! Making memories with my kids, and experiencing new adventures!

But something happened. I went to sleep when I wanted, I woke up when I wanted. I ate what I wanted when I wanted. I did exactly what I felt like doing for 2 whole days.

By Sunday night, I was thinking about how rare this is. I go to work every day and have to meet the expectations set out for me. I come home and feel that I have to get supper on the table, and get some laundry done. I owe my husband and kids some of my time. I need to connect with my friends, who are going to start to wonder how important they are to me if I don’t stay in touch. It’s not that I don’t like doing these things. I love my job. I like to cook. I enjoy time with my family. I have a ton of fun with my friends. Laundry, well, that’s a different story, but for the most part, the things I do each day are things that bring me pleasure.

But in spite of this, when you feel that you HAVE to do something, it drains your energy. Even things we want to do can be exhausting.

And that’s what I realized this weekend. In spite of my days being filled with things I want to do, I don’t have a lot of time in my life where I am truly free to do exactly as I wish.

And having had that time this weekend, I feel energized and ready to face the world again.

It makes me wonder… would the people around me be happier and more motivated if I provided them opportunities when possible to make decisions for themselves? Are there times that I am unnecessarily limiting the freedom of other people?

Are there ways that you could help others to be able to meet their need for freedom?

Leave a Reply

