From the Mouths of Babes

My daughter and I love to cuddle up in my bed and watch angsty teenage dramas on MTV. It’s totally my guilty pleasure. Some of the characters make me crazy, and I love to hate them. How can someone be so shallow! How can someone be so stupid!

And then my daughter called me out.

“Mom, I don’t understand how you can do the work that you do when you are so judgemental and bitter towards people!”

She’s right. If any one of these characters were to walk into my office in real life, I would search to understand where they were coming from. I would try to help them develop the skills they need to navigate their lives more effectively.

Now, you may say that the TV characters I love to hate are not part of the real world, and that there’s no problem with letting loose on imaginary people.

But when I look at my daughter, I just count my lucky stars that somehow she has managed to grow into such a compassionate and caring person in spite of her mother’s periodic ranting about stupid people. Obviously, her childhood was not completely filled with hatred and judgement. But this has got me thinking about what we model for our kids.

What do you say about the guy who cuts you off in traffic?

What do you say about the clerk who is checking out your groceries at a speed slower than molasses?

What do you say about your spouse when they have pounced on your last nerve?

Do you live what you say you believe in?

2 thoughts on “From the Mouths of Babes

  1. Heather Sanche says:

    Our school division is starting restitution this fall. I have attended Redtitution I and II this past year and I’m hoping to attend Control Theory in August. Most people at my school have very little knowledge about restitution. We will receive as a division a full day training in September and then another day later in November. I am wondering if the staff at my school would like to do a book study this year, what one book on Restitution would you recommend? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks so much, Heather Sanche hsanche@isd21.mb.ca ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

