It’s Okay to Make a Mistake!

The fear of making mistakes is at the root of many problems.  Kids lie or blame other people because they don’t want to get in trouble for admitting they did something wrong.  People avoid trying new things because they don’t want to look foolish.  Students say they understand when they really don’t, because they don’t want to be seen as stupid.  People beat up on themselves for not being perfect.

So every opportunity I have, I am always preaching that mistakes are how we learn, and that screwing up is a necessary part of the process to success.

To that end, I thought I’d share some resources I found on youtube that you might be able to use to reinforce this message.

I love this first one, because it takes me back to my days of watching Sesame Street.  But even for those of a different generation, I dare you to not be singing this one to yourself after hearing this snappy song by our good friend Big Bird:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHkymY6yKMg

Big Bird also tackles this issue in a story called “Everyone Makes Mistakes”.  It’s all about the many different lies that Big Bird considers telling to avoid getting into trouble, before ultimately realizing it’s best to tell the truth.  It’s at:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qrEk9jtc0Js

This next one is aimed a kids a bit older than the Sesame Street crowd.  It’s a song that talks about what not to do when you make a mistake (lie, cry, give up etc.) but that instead you should learn from your mistakes:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoPhfYcxLCg

This inspirational video is for an older crowd.  It tells the stories of many well-known and successful people who didn’t give up in spite of their “failures”.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLYECIjmnQs

If you know of other resources to use, please share in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Make a Mistake!

  1. Sandy Kehler says:

    Hi Rebecca!

    I’m enjoying reading your posts. Thank you! For this one, when I click on your youtube links it brings me to a login page for the RRSD. Do you know the name of the links? Maybe if I had the name, I could find them on youtube directly?

    Also, Just wanted to let you know that I will be working with the 5 grade 3 teachers in our school in January, doing Restitution lessons in their classes for about 6 weeks. I’m really excited – but nervous! I could really use some coaching along the way – someone to answer questions now and again. Would it be possible to connect with you in that way? If not, would you have any other suggestion of someone I could connect with?

    Hope you are enjoying these first weeks in your new position 🙂

    Thanks for everything,

    🌾Sandy Kehler
    Guidance counsellor
    Woodlawn School

    Like

  2. Rebecca Gray says:

    Oops – I made a mistake! Kind of perfect, based on the theme of this post! I think the links are working now. Thanks for alerting me!

    I am more than happy to answer any of your questions as you start introducing Restitution in your classes. Feel free to email me at grayrebeccalouise@gmail.com and I’ll help anyway I can!

    Take care!

    Like

Leave a Reply

